Count the Cost

When we hear the words “Count the Cost” we often think about the cost of following Christ’s call to us. This song gives a different perspective on those words.

COUNT THE COST

All the things that seem so priceless will quickly turn to dust

All the things we do for Jesus will never faid or rust

Though the toil may test our comfort and require sacrifice

There’s a message we must offer that surpasses any price.

All the treasures He has promised are ours to give away

To the people lost and needy who are searching for a way.

To give their life new meaning, to know a lasting peace

We must give of His full measure for His riches never cease.

Count the cost of never caring for a world that’s lost in sin

Count the cost of never sharing that new life may now begin

Count the cost of people dieing never knowing of the cross

Though our lives may be an offering for His service

Count the cost.

What if no one ever cares about the salvation of others?

What if nobody ever shared the message of the cross?

What if nobody ever offered their lives for the service of others?

If that were the case what blessings would we receive, what joy would fill our hearts, what meaning would color our lives, what peace would characterize our actions? What good would the sacrifice given on Calvary be?

But thankfully, such is not the case. There are people who are outpouring their lives in service for others, who spend their lives pleading, begging, and praying for the salvation or others, who share the message of the cross. The sacrifice given on Calvary is worth everything.

But what about you? What is the cost of your never sharing? What is the cost of your never caring? What is the cost of living your life in service to yourself?

Is it worth it to be self-centered. I think not. The message of the cross only impacts our lives so much as we share it. The more we share it, the more meaningful it becomes to us, the bigger its impact on our lives. Faithfulness in the service of God is worth everything.

I want to hear God say, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant”, but to hear that I must be faithful. I must share Him with the world. I must carry the message of the cross.  Jesus commanded, “Go, ye therefore and teach all nations.” Sharing Christ with the world is a Divine command. But O, what a wonderful command! What a blessing to see lives being changed. What victories to be gained. What challenges to overcome.

Yes, often we labor unrewarded, unknown, unsought., unpaid, unloved, we bear rebuke and scoffing, loneliness often encompasses us. The toil is difficult. God has not promised smooth sailing. He has sent us to toil for Him (sometimes alone), to suffer for His sake, to know His love-alone, to lose our lives in His (and to love it), and to taste of Calvary. But the rewards are everlasting. Joy in knowing a soul has found God, peace from the assurance of obedience to His will, eternal life with Jesus.

Serving Christ is worth it to me.


SO SEND I YOU by grace made strong to trimph

O’er hosts of hell, o’er darkness, death and sin.

My name to bear, and in that name to conquer

So Send I you, My victory to win.

SO SEND I YOU to take to souls in bondage
the Word of Truth that sets the captives free,
to break the bonds of sin, to loose death’s fetters,
So send I you to bring the lost to Me.

SO SEND I YOU My strength to know in weakness,
My joy in grief, My perfect peace in pain,
To prove My power, My Grace, My promised presence,
So send I you, eternal fruit to gain.

SO SEND I YOU to bear My cross with patience,
and then one day with joy to lay it down,
to hear My voice, “Well done my faithful servant
Come share My throne, My kingdom and My crown.

By E. Margaret Clarkson

Thoughts to share?

