Birds and Obedience

Have you ever wondered why a bird (or anything for that matter) would choose to live in a city?

All the pollution. All the heat. All the vice and crime. All the cars that could run into them.

It’s not a life that I would choose.

 

And yet, that bird doesn’t really choose to live in the city.

It’s there because it obeys and follows a higher power than many of us.

That bird follows the King of the Universe as a willing servant.

When the King says, “Go!” it goes, when the King says, “Sing!” it sings, when the King says, “Stay!” it does.

When the bird is told to make another life happy, it does. And when the time comes for that bird to take its last breath it does so cheerfully and peacefully.

That bird practices 100% commitment and obedience 100% of the time.

It may not have chosen on its own to live in the city, but because it’s King wished it to…it did.

Some human beings can’t imagine living anywhere other than the city, some can’t imagine living in the city.

Would we be willing and obedient to go where God sent us even if it wasn’t something we could imagine doing ourselves?

Do we truly obey and follow the same higher power that the birds follow?

Is God the King of our lives or are we ruling our own? Or more accurately, allowing the devil to rule it for us.

We sing the song, ‘I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go’, but do we really mean it? Are we really willing to go to places we don’t want to go simply because God calls us there?

Are we really following God? Following God means going where He sends us and when He sends us, it means sharing joy with others who need joy, it means staying when He tells us to stay. It means trusting Him with our lives, it means allowing Him to work His purpose in and through us. It means doing what is best for others, even when we have no hope of reward or recompense.

Following Christ takes 100% commitment and obedience 100% of the time. It doesn’t work to be committed 99% percent of the time and then the other 1% be working for Satan. That 1% can disqualify us for heaven.

We may not choose to live in the city (or country depending on your circumstance) but if our King that we profess to serve asked us to….would we or would we not.

And I willing to be inconvenienced for the sake of obeying the call?

Am I willing to do things I don’t want to do simply because my King beckons?

So many times in my life I’ve had something come up that I didn’t want to do. Take helping Joanna run Dine Youth Camp for instance. I did not want to do it. I was plain frightened of the responsibility. And yet, there was no one else who could. Several weeks passed while I struggled with whether or not to do it. I had sung “I’ll do what You what me to do” and I had thought I meant it but when faced with this task, I wasn’t so sure I really wanted to do it. God kept asking me, “Did you really mean it when you said you’d do what I asked you to do?” and I kept questioning, “But is this really something You want me to do? I mean, I don’t know the foggiest thing about running a youth camp, and I’m really not the best person to do this.” Time and time again the reply came, “Yes, I want you to do this.” Finally, I had to make the choice. I had run out of time, Joanna was needing help. I struggled, but finally made the decision to help. Phew! That was scary. But now, I’m glad. Yes, it is tremendous responsibility, yes, sometimes I wonder if it’s really worth it, sometimes the task overwhelms me with it’s greatness; but it’s worth it just to see lives change. It’s worth it when I watch young people begin to realize how much they are loved. It’s worth it to see attitudes change. It’s worth it to simply watch joy fill their faces. It’s worth it to learn, again, that God’s promises are always kept. His grace truly is sufficient in my weakness.

I can’t say I’ve always obeyed the call. So many times I have failed. I have turned away from opportunities because I was afraid. I have turned away because I did not want to do what I was asked.But I’m learning.

Are you willing to obey your call?

Are you afraid you won’t be able to do it? His grace is sufficent.

Are you afraid the task will overwhelm you? He will not give you more than you can bear.

Do you fear that your inability will compromise the project? His ability is there waiting for you.

Are you worried that your weakness will overcome you? His strength is perfect.

My grace is sufficient for thee: for My strength is made perfect in weakness.

2 Corinthians 12:9

 

 

Thoughts to share?

