2011

2011. It’s been an intense, yet amazing year.

It’s been a year of finding blessings in hidden places, of learning to find joy in pain, of discovering the beauty of rain.

A year of discovering the amazing grace of God that picks me up, time and time again.

A year of learning to let go, to surrender, to trust, to seek for nothing between my Savior and me.

A year of learning to depend upon God, that in my weakness His strength is made perfect, that there is no fear in love, for perfect love casts out all fear.

A year of fighting giants.

It’s been a year of wonderment, of amazement.

A year of discovering that God is faithful, that He delights in answering prayer, that I am never alone.

A year of learning to love the dreams that God has for me.

A year of learning to be willing to let go of the life I have planned for myself in order to have the life that God has planned for me.

A year of learning that His plans are so much better than mine.

A year of learning to listen.

A year of learning that it’s not about me, but about Christ.

 

 

This year I’ve sensed more than ever how intense the battle between righteousness and unrighteousness is and at times I’ve wondered how I could possibly press on. But this year I’ve also learned that no matter what my natural inclinations are, no matter what temptations I struggle with; God has promised grace sufficient to overcome. I’ve learned that God never gives us anything but what He knows we can overcome. I’ve learned that I can’t even walk without Him holding my hand.

At the beginning of this year I thought I knew who I was and I was shocked to discover that all is not as it seems and when I asked God to do whatever it took to change my character into His I never imagined that He would move with such life-shaking, life-changing action. But I’m grateful, for He’s teaching me to trust Him even when I don’t understand, even when I can’t see the path. Yet, through it all I see a God who never fails. A God who is teaching me, day by day, hour by hour, moment by moment, that He is faithful and that through Him I can overcome.

And through the pain,  the tears, the rain…I’ve learned God is faithful and that He never fails. His promises are sure. His love is everlasting and without limit.

Thanksgiving came and went this year, and back then I didn’t feel very grateful. But the past week and a half has taught me that a spirit of thankfulness can lighten the darkest cloud. And so today I’m thankful.

I’m thankful for

Rain and it’s cleansing properties.

The little things, for sometimes they are really the biggest things.

Darkness, for it is there that light shines most brightly.

The laughter of children.

A God who delights in doing the unexpected.

God’s faithfulness.

Memories.

Calvary, for it is there I am set free.

Love, stronger.

Songs that express my thoughts.

And if you’re broken, if you think you can’t go on, if you’re at the end of your rope, if you’ve spent your resources; just know, God can heal the broken, He can give strength; He can teach you to hold on; and His resources are endless. And remember, that as God is shaping, molding, chiseling you; He is making you into what He wants you to be. Only His precious stones are polished after the similitude of a palace.

The darkest night is often the bridge to the brightest tomorrow
– Jonathan Lockwood Huie


Thoughts to share?

