Candlelight

When the electricity is off,
Candlelight flickers, and
Lamps softly glow.

I am reminded most strongly that it is in darkness where light shines most brightly.
When the lights flood a room with harsh light one little candle hardly makes a difference.
The light it produces seem insignificant and needless.
But it is when all other lights are out, when only a candle flickers in the darkness, that its value is shown.
Just one candle can softly light a room.
Just one candle can change pitch black to something warm and welcoming.
Each candle is called to give light…unselfishly.
And just like that candle, I am called to be a light.
Ye are the light of the world….Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father which is in heaven.”*
 
I may seem insignificant compared to the world’s billions upon billions of people,
But if I choose to faithfully serve Christ.
If I choose to obey His Word, follow His leading, do what He says.
If I choose to surrender everything I am, everything I have…. everything.
If I choose to allow Christ to shine His light through me….
…Then I can be a light in the world.
And no one (not even you)  is insignificant in the eyes of heaven.
*Matthew 5:14,16
Thoughts to share?

