My Plans or God’s Plans

I had my life planned out when I was 16.

I was going to finish high school at home and then I was going to go take the lifestyle educator course from Wildwood, and then I’d go through nursing school at Southern.

Well, it didn’t happen that way. We moved from Georgia to Arizona when I was 17, and there went my plans out the window. I didn’t want to be that far away from home and besides, I had been called by God to work among the natives in Arizona. I wasn’t going anywhere.

Instead of finishing high school I skipped 11th and 12th grade and took my GED when I was 18. Instead of going to Wildwood and taking the course on campus, I enrolled in their online course (which I’m still taking, by the way). Instead of going to Southern and taking nursing, I was called to youth ministry.

So much for my plans.

None of them were happening.

Instead, I was cooking at the mission school; teaching Sabbath School: first to rowdy children under 10 and second to indifferent juniors; organizing a youth horse camp of sorts, selling hay, and taking care of foster children.

And so, I re-planned my life.

I planned to stay at home until I got married; keep directing the youth camp; finish up my online course; help at the health center in Monument Valley; and quite possibly take an EMT training course and volunteer as an EMT on the Navajo Reservation.

They were good plans, or so I thought.

But once again, God had other plans.

It wasn’t that long ago that He decided my world needed some changing. In fact, it was just over a year ago that I made the decision to move here to work at Young Disciple. It wasn’t an easy decision: in fact, it was quite possibly the hardest decision of my life (so far). I still remember the fear of the unknown… the desire to stay with my family-the only home I’d ever had…the questioning if God really knew what He was doing.

But, by the time I left home in the beginning on January, I was excited. I was happy. I wanted to work here at Young Disciple. And in the 10 months I’ve been here I’ve never once regretted that decision. I know that this is where God has called me to be. I know that this is the work He has called me to do.

So, what exactly does the future hold?

I don’t know. I don’t need to know. Of course, there are things that I’d like to do.

But this I know…

I wouldn’t trade any of the life that I have had for a different life. I wouldn’t trade the years spent on the Navajo reservation, I would trade the time I have had here at YD, I wouldn’t trade the hard times… nor the good times. Because as I look back over my life, I see the faithfulness of God. I see that the plans He had for me were infinitely better than any that I could have planned for myself.

The same God who has planned and directed my pathway up to this point is still the same God who plans the pathway that I have not yet walked.

And I know… assuredly…that He is still faithful.

And He always will be.

“We have not wisdom to plan our own lives. It is not for us to shape our future….Christ in His life on earth, made no plans for Himself. He accepted God’s plans for Him, and day by day the Father unfolded His plans. So should we depend upon God, that our lives may be the simple outworking of His will. As we commit our ways to Him, He will direct our steps. Too many, in planning for a brilliant future, make an utter failure. Let God plan for you. As a little child, trust to the guidance of Him who will “keep the feet of His saints.” God never leads His children otherwise than they would choose to be led, if they could see the end from the beginning and discern the glory of the purpose which they are fulfilling as co-workers with Him” {MH 478, 478}.

One thought on “My Plans or God’s Plans

Thoughts to share?

